Kerala Style Chilli Beef

img_8270
Kerala Style Beef Chilli

After 3 long years I am back onto blogging. I started this blog and religiously posted at least once a week. I used to enjoy the process but over time things at home and work got hectic. I was still cooking during this time but it usually went from the pan straight into our tummy’s :). I have been cooking one pot or quick meals on a busy school night and cooks enough to last two dinners.Lil R is almost 7 now, her taste buds have changed over this time. She was one person who thoroughly enjoyed a traditional Kerala meal with her favourite fish curry. But now she prefers Oriental cuisine on a day out.

I have been a vegetarian for quite sometime now, when I say vegetarian Lacto Ovo Vegetarian to be precise. Though now my side of family is vegetarian, while we were young my mum cooked delicious non-vegetarian recipes. She used to cook and not taste them, I found it impossible, how would she know if the flavours and seasonings are right. But she did it and it was always delectable . She still impresses me with her speed at cooking and consistent taste. I want to be like her.

While doing my weekly grocery shopping , I was in the meat section and saw Indian beef cubes. I have never cooked beef before, and thought what a great way to challenge myself. I have only eaten beef while I was in college. So with no recipe in hand and a faint memory of what the ingredients might be I did my shopping. As soon I got home I went online for recipes.

My go to blog for Kerala cuisine is Sangeetha’s blog. Her recipes are exactly like my moms cooking. So no surprise when I had to tackle chilli beef I blindly followed her recipe (with few adjustments). I hope you enjoy this as well.

img_8271
Kerala Style Beef Chilli

Ingredients

To Marinate :
Beef : 355 gms (Washed and cut into small cubes)

Red Chilli flakes  : 1.5 T
Garlic : 3/4 T; crushed in a pestle
Ginger : 3/4 T; crushed in a pestle
Curry leaves :1 sprig
Vinegar : 3/4 T
Salt to taste
To Dry Roast & Grind Coarsely :
Pepper : little less than 1/4 t
Fennel seeds : little less than 1/4 T
Cinnamon Stick : 1/2″ piece
Clove : 2 nos
Cardamom : 2 pods

For Sauteing :
Shallots  : 1/2 cup (thinly sliced)

Green chilies : 2 nos or to taste (split length-wise)
Curry Leaves : 2 sprigs
Thin Coconut Slices : less than 1/4 cup
Coconut Oil : 2 T

Method

1. Heat a pan on a medium heat till hot. Reduce the heat and dry roast the ingredients listed above ‘To  Dry Roast & Grind’ on the pan. Stirring often till the spices give off their aroma and begin to get slightly darker; remove from heat. Allow to cool.
2. Grind the above roasted spices into a coarse powder.
3. Marinate the beef pieces with the ingredients listed under ‘ to marinate’ including the roasted spices and refrigerate it for about 1/2 to 1 hr.
4. Cook the marinated beef pieces without adding any water for about 2 whistles in a pressure cooker. The beef should release its own juices, however mine didn’t.5. Remove from heat and let it cool.  Take the lid off the cooker and cook uncovered in a medium-low flame till all water in it is evaporated and beef pieces become almost dry. (I skipped this step, as mine was close to dry after cooking in the pressure cooker).
6. Heat the pan with 2 tbsp of oil and fry the coconut slices to light brown color, remove and transfer it to a paper towel.
7. In the same pan add finely chopped shallots/onions and green chilies and saute until turns to translucent and brown in color, now add the curry leaves and saute for couple of minutes.
8. Now add cooked beef pieces and combine well and roast it over medium-low fire till it turns dark brown in color.
9. Once the beef starts to dry and have attained the dark brown color then add fried coconut slices and combine well.  Serve with rice, Kerala porotta, or appam.

img_8272
Kerala Style Beef Chilli

nutritional-value

4 Comments Add yours

  1. JoeB says:

    Hey Veena the beef looks reallly yummy. Can I make a suggestion, this year I am fully committed in having healthy food (call it part of my new year resolution 😉 ), is it possible to state the nutritional value, which breaks down the amount of carbs, protein, fat etc per serving or for the portion size you cooked? I known an app that could assist you with this..https://www.myfitnesspal.com/ …its completely your call..but it could be nice touch to your blog…neways good going…and hope to see more recipes..light n love…!

    1. Preveena says:

      Hey JoeB.. thank you so much for your feedback. I have just updated the link with an indicative nutritional value based on this recipe. Hope this helps!

  2. JoeB says:

    Awesomeeeeeee!!! thanks a ton..definitely makes a difference…!!

    1. Preveena says:

      I should thank you as well. I will add the nutritional value for all recipe from here on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

