Birthday Celebrations…

Note: This post is delayed by a few days.

She is 3 today; she hasn’t realized it’s her birthday yet. I wished her this morning and she had the ‘Ma, please let me sleep’ look. This would be the first birthday where she understands what a birthday is about; cake, gifts, family and friends and I want her to have it all.

rhea

She was so tiny and just weighed 2 kilo- then, and now, she all grown up – likes to eat on her own, likes to choose what she wears, she like high heels and pretty dresses (she is absolutely my girl  🙂 ), she gives endless kisses and hugs. She wakes up with a smile and says ‘ Good morning, Amma’ and makes my day. She is my darling!!

01

02

I have baked all her birthday cakes, and this year was no different. She loves fruits, I wanted a fresh looking cake, and moreover a simple cake. So I baked her a butter cake, layered it with a fresh strawberry compote and whipped cream, iced the cake with whipping cream and garnished it with fresh fruits.

03

Since her birthday fell in the middle of the week, I had to effectively manage my time to have the cake ready in time for the celebration. I had all the ingredients ready in my pantry to start the process. I baked the first layer of cake two days prior of the celebration, since it was my first time trying this recipe, it took me couple of hours to get this out. I let the cake cool, cling wrap it and left it in the refrigerator. The next day I baked the second layer, this time it took me lesser time and I also managed to make the strawberry compote (will post this recipe soon). So I had the main components ready to assemble on ‘the day’. On the day of the celebration, I quickly made a whipped cream icing and assembled the cake and garnished it. It tasted delicious.

04

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Happy Birthday to your Precious 3 yr old !!! ♪ ♪ ♪ 😀

    1. Preveena says:

      Thank you so much Fae! 🙂

  2. Janet Rörschåch says:

    What fun! Children in the house. Celebrations have more sparkle to them when children are involved. Beautiful daughter. Happy day to many happy days. 😀

    1. Preveena says:

      Oh Janet, thank you so much! She absolutely enjoyed the celebrations. 🙂

  3. Sanjana says:

    The cake was delicious! It might be the first time in ages (okay… since Xmas :P) I had two pieces of cake one right after the other!
    And R’s the cutest lil thing! Can’t believe she’s 3 already! God Bless!

    1. Preveena says:

      Thanks Sanjana! I am so glad you enjoyed it. Oh yea, she is 3 and growing, don’t realize how time flies. Every year around this time i remember the baby shower, and the eventful day after. She is going to hear this story for a very long time 🙂

      1. Sanjana says:

        she’s going to be SO bored of us! 😀

      2. Sanjana says:

        *us – her uncles and aunts. ;P

  4. liveblissful says:

    She is gorgeous, I hope she had a good birthday! Your cake looks so delicious!

    1. Preveena says:

      Thank you so much! She did have a good birthday! 🙂

  5. Your li’l girl is such a doll! God bless her! And the cake looks too yum!!! Share the recipe please 🙂

    1. Preveena says:

      Thank you so much Divya! I will post the recipe soon. 🙂

  6. nmaha says:

    Happy 3rd B’day to the little princess. I found your blog through Sanjana’s. Love the cake, it looks perfect and so tempting. My daughter’s turning 5 tomorrow and I keep wondering where those years went!

    1. Preveena says:

      Thank you Nmaha! Kids grow up so fast, I am already missing the early stages.

  7. asha says:

    Belated birthday wishes to your little pretty angel. I am sure she enjoyed her amma’s cake baked with so much effort and tons of love..the cake looks delicious

    1. Preveena says:

      Thank you so much Asha! 🙂 I baked a cake after a long time, the last was for Halloweens . I should be baking more often 🙂 (not help my waistline though :D)

  8. cyril says:

    hello Preveena Belated B’day wishes to cue girl.
    As beautiful as a flower,
    With a heart of pure gold,
    We’re wishing you the best
    That any birthday can hold.
    Happy Birthday to you, little super star!
    Cyril

    1. Preveena says:

      Thank you so much for the beautiful wishes Cyril 🙂

      1. cyril says:

        Welcome Preveena..Convey My regards to Little angle..Howz the b’day celebrations ?
        Cyril

      2. Preveena says:

        She had a good birthday, surrounded by friends and family. 🙂

      3. cyril says:

        Great..All the best for your”s and family future life..
        Cyril

  9. Nancy says:

    My bets wishes for ur lil one.
    U knw I soo get what u mean by “This would be the first birthday where she understands what a birthday is about” 🙂
    Cake looks totally yummy…made a butter cake long back and it was delicious. I too made a cake for the H’s birthday & iced it with chocolate mousse….it was out of the world but didnt look so good though :-P.

    p.s: I was planning to make strawberry compote in the next few days for a cheesecake and was smiling to read abt it here.

    1. Preveena says:

      Thank you Nancy! 🙂
      I am looking forward to seeing you pictures of the cheesecake, so is this recipe from Rachel Allen’s book??

  10. Insight says:

    Awww…! So sweet of ya both. 🙂

    Rahul

    1. Preveena says:

      Thank you Rahul!

      1. Insight says:

        You are most welcome, Praveena!
        NB: You are a Mallu, uh? Am I right? 🙂

        Rahul

      2. Preveena says:

        Yes Rahul! I am from Kerala.

Leave a Reply

