Pasta and spicy White Mushroom sauce

 

I love cooking, and usually spend sometime during my lunch searching for recipes to inspire me. On a  busy day at work, when i dont do my usual research, i cook recipes that i have attempted before and wont consume a lot of time. Yesterday, was one stressful day at work. and i had absolute zero inspiration to cook dinner. I walk in to the kitchen, find some mushrooms on my fridge shelf, and decided it had to be pasta for dinner. I let the pasta to cook and got on to my white sauce. I have tried variations of white sauce, never followed a recipe, just prepare it as per my mood. Yesterday, i measured every ingredient that went it to the sauce, just sensed this would be ‘The Sauce’ and it was. I loved the zing on the back of my tongue from the green chilli in every mouthful and mild smoked flavour from the parprika. I was hungry, but waited patiently for S to get home to capture some pictures to share on the blog.

Ingredients

Sauce

Double cream milk – 2 cups
All purpose flour – 1 tablespoon
Spring onions -2 stems
Garlic- 4 cloves
Green chili – 1 no’s / according to heat level reqd.
Mushroom – 100gms
Italian seasoning – 1/2 tsp
Smoked paprika – a pinch.
Butter- 2 tsp
Olive oil – 1 tsp
Salt to taste 

Pasta

Pasta – 450gms
Pimento infused olive oil- a drizzle
Salt to taste 

Method

Sauce: In a hot saucepan, melt butter and olive oil. Saute the finely chopped spring onions,  garlic and green chilli, until the raw smell disappears and the garlic and green chilli infuses into the oil well. Add the flour to the pan, and quickly stir until the flour gets cooked. Add to this the double cream milk and stir until the milk is heated well. Stir in the spices and mushroom and  let the sauce cook on low heat, until the mushroom are cooked and the sauce is slightly thickened. Salt the sauce as per your taste and set aside.

Pasta: Add pasta to generously salted hot boiling water and let it cook until al dente. (or just cook as per the pasta  package instructions). Drain the cooked pasta, and set aside.

Assembly: Dish out the pasta, drizzle with pimento infused olive oil and pour a couple of spoonfuls of the sauce over it.

With a glass of red wine, this dish is a great end to a hard day at work.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sanjana says:

    Aw! Nice of you to wait till S came home to take the pics for the blog! 🙂
    I don’t much like white sauce myself, I find it a bit too cheesy. But you’re right, it’s an easy thing to make when you’re not in the mood for anything complicated.

    1. itzmeveena says:

      Even i wasnt a big fan of white sauce until i made this one. You must try this one sanj. Its light and yummy.

Leave a Reply

